2013: A Year in Review

2013 was a little crazy and a lot wonderful. I’m so grateful for every experience I had this year, mostly because it felt like a perfect combination of all of the things I love — this blog, theatre, travel, fun, and family. You know I love to do a year in review (evidence here, here, and here), so let’s talk about 2013.

A year ago right now, I was bonkers stressed out with Alt a few weeks away, because I had the opportunity to both speak and throw a party for the opening night dinners. I was so pumped and so nervous, and I feel like it set the stage for a really wonderful year professionally.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.53.11 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.53.32 PM

Early spring was about building friendships, and I’ll never forget the day I took this photo. Kelly, Brittni, and I went to the LA Flower Market and that day we set wheels into motion for something really cool that’s coming together soon (after literally a year in the making). So grateful for those girls and all of the other blogger friends I’ve made recently who encourage me to be creative every day.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.55.42 PM

In May I got to spend a few days in Palm Springs with my Bestie, which was just about the best thing a girl could ask for. 
Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.57.03 PM

Also in May, my sweet mom had her hip replaced. I was so thankful that it timed perfectly in my schedule to be able to stay with her through her recuperation and help her to get (literally) back on her feet. I won’t lie, it was a tough road, but Mom is a soldier and never, ever stopped being positive. So summer was filled with lots and lots of family hours, and many a front porch bubble extravaganza.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.57.48 PM

Shortly after that bubble picture was taken, my beautiful preggo sister made another person! Little Noah came in August and taught us all that the heart has infinite room to love.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.59.36 PM

Mr. Lovely and I were pumped this year to be able to take the stage together twice, once with a show in LA and once in my hometown. We had a ball both times, and I love being onstage with that kid. (These are a couple of dressing room and rehearsal shots.)
Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.55.02 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 4.01.05 PM

In the fall we headed to NYC to spend some much needed time with our wonderful friends there, and then went on to Europe for our anniversary in Paris. Pfft. There are just no words, so let the pictures do the talking.
Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 4.03.29 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 4.04.04 PM

Chelsey and I wrote an ebook, too! Make Your Day was a huge, unruly pile of work, but something that we are both so proud of. Talk about a learning experience. But so satisfying when we were able to put a bow on it and send it out in the world for people to enjoy.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 4.05.02 PM

And finally, we wrapped up the year with maybe my favorite blog collaboration — a big project with west elm. I’m proud of the work that they allowed me to do for them, and so happy to be collaborating with such a creative, gracious brand.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 4.05.29 PM

In writing this post, I keep finding myself typing things like grateful and thankful. And so I guess that was the theme of the year. I know that I put in hours upon hours of hard work, but it’s just because so many wonderful opportunities came my way. I can’t believe some of the things the year brought, and while it wasn’t only a barrel of laughs (there were some low points too), it was pretty unreal. and through everything, Mr. Lovely is always right there, being awesome and encouraging and just plain cool. So if I had to pick the thing I’m most grateful for, it would be him.

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 3.56.25 PMI would love to know some of your most memorable experiences this year, so share them in the comments if you’re feeling nostalgic. And if you had to pick one thing to be most thankful for this year, what would it be? Here’s to a beautiful 2014. xoxo

 


9 comments

  1. This is beautiful, Chelsea. I’m looking back on this year and realizing how my world has change so drastically over the drawn out space of one year. And since I’m about to be relocated from the NYC, I’m even more grateful for the memorable moments with friends and the many opportunities that I had in this place that I love so much. I hope you have a wonderful New Years!

    • chelsea on said:

      Oh that’s awesome! Living in NYC is such a gorgeous adventure. Wishing you all the best!

  2. sara on said:

    Hi Chelsea.
    Happy new year!
    I hope you have a wonderful New Years.too!

  3. Olive Machado August on said:

    Chelsea – I enjoyed reading your 2013 a year in review. You guys are so talented. Congrats to your sister on her new baby son. He is a doll. Glad you were able to come home to help your mom when she had her surgery. Happy New Year to all the family. May it be filled with great health, happiness, love & family. Keep up the good work. Love your, Cuz, Olive & Bill August

  4. Kory on said:

    I love when male spouses are there for us ( even when they don’t understand, in my case haha ). Blog life is a rollercoaster, and it’s so great to know that there’s always someone on our side! :)

  5. Brittni on said:

    Oh yes! The flower market day! Man, that trip to visit you guys was one I’ll never forget. Can’t wait until we can share what we’ve been scheming. Happy new year Chels!

  6. elaine costa on said:

    What a beautiful post. My year was blessed with family–kids grandkids, cousins, aunts & uncles, health, and happiness. And your blog. :)

  7. Chelsea, this is a wonderful recap of such a lovely life! I’m so happy to have met you this year and can’t wait for creative adventures in 2014!

    • chelsea on said:

      You too, sweet thing! What a treat to know you. Can’t wait for our next adventure!

Leave a Reply

Don't worry, we won't publish your email address.